Tribute, well, sort of, to Graham Kerr.


Tonight’s entree, is Cherry Chicken flambeau, with Farfelle Alfredo and fresh snow peas.

We start with a nice hand filleted chicken breast.

Which we slowly cook in Olive Oil.


When I am cooking, it’s either in olive oil or butter. yes, it’ll probably kill me, but… Hey… Who is actually going to live for ever???

Now… the real trick here as Graham Kerr stressed more time than anyone can remember… Is to schedule the cook time right. Not everything cooks at the same speed…

So, technically, I put the snow peas on first, then the Farfelle. Once they were beginning to reach the proper temperature, then and only then did I start the chicken.

Time for that Graham Kerr tribute… Yea… Sorry… If you did not grow up watching The Galloping Gourmet, and no, I do not mean watching one or two episodes, you are not like\y to get this.

Now for those of you who do not already know this. I “technically” speaking am a disabled person. I was born with clubbed feet. That is a physical disability. I have an amazing amount of corrective surgery starting from about the time I was 8 days old to mostly correct this disability. Both of my feet were clubbed. I did not learn to walk until I was about 8 years old. Yes, I WAS that kid in the old photo’s with casts on both legs and a metal bar connecting them at the ankles.

Consequently, I spent a lot more time in front of the TV them the majority of my peers. Back in the 1960’s and 1970’s if you were watching TV during the mid afternoon, odds are you were watching bullshit. TV generally sucked back then, which is not to say that it doesn’t suck now as well. However, in my personal opinion, Julia Child’s and Graham Kerr were two of TV’s redeeming characters back then.

They showed you how to make things to eat that were wonderful.

Personally, as I became an adult, I began to suspect that Graham Kerr hated what he was doing. I cannot even begin to speculate on why, but there were little hints. Hints that I picked up on at the time, but didn’t understand. If you watched enough Graham Kerr, you might have noticed that he drank a tad bit. I always thought it was simply because he was cooking. A shot of sherry for the Veal, a shot of Sherry for Graham. This was a theme that while perhaps not obvious to his casual viewers, was a giggle snort amongst his hardcore fans.

As a kid, I had trouble keeping up with all of the other kids physically. I was slower, and less coordinated, less agile. At sports, I generally got my ass kicked. On the other hand, things that didn’t required me to kick the neighborhood bullies ass, I did pretty damned well at. Graham Kerr was one of my childhood hero’s, because he gave me a more than level playing field upon which to compete. It doesn’t matter how big your muscles are, if you can’t cook a souffle, you can’t cook a souffle, all the muscles in the world won’t help you.

I once heard, (I think it might have actually been Graham Kerr who said it) that cooking was like building model cars or rockets, except that when you were done, you got to eat what you had built. Even with the simplest ingredients, food does not have to be boring. Your imagination is the only limit.

Nice simple ingredients. Nothing complex at all about them.

However.. Fortunately for me… This stuff literally grows like a weed where I live. Yes.. that is the Herb Rosemary. There are, at last count (of mine which is not by any means a scientific consensuses, 5 varieties of Rosemary (Rosmarinus officinalis) which grow wild here in the part of Southern California (There are at least 24 varieties of Rosemary, all of them safe for cooking with: ‘Arp’, ‘Blue Spires’, ‘Collingwood Ingram’, ‘Golden Rain’, ‘Gorizia’, ‘Hill Hardy’, ‘Miss Jessup’s Upright’, ‘Prostratus’, and ‘Tuscan Blue’) where I reside. As it just happens, Rosemary is one of my favorite Herbs.

So… Without any further babbling…

A little Flambeau courtesy of Hiram Walker’s Cherry Brandy, (flambeau is the french art of setting your food literally on fire, without rendering uneatable)

and here you have it.

6 thoughts on “Tribute, well, sort of, to Graham Kerr.

  1. Hey CL,

    How come everytime I visit this place I never find any mirrors but there is lots of food like it’s a wilderness of food or sumpin.

    Stop in if you want a smooch for dessert after one of SWalkers receipts.

  2. “Graham Kerr was one of my childhood hero’s, because he gave me a more than level playing field upon which to compete. It doesn’t matter how big your muscles are, if you can’t cook a souffle, you can’t cook a souffle, all the muscles in the world won’t help you.”

    Who are you and what have you done with SWalker and the horse he rode in on?

    Mr. Rogers pick up the courtesy phone, you are wanted for kidnapping SWalker.

Leave a Reply

