I must be careful of the “Comfort Food trap”.


Back in my early to mid 20’s, I cooked in a couple of restaurants. It was not something that I wanted to make a career out of, so it was not something that I pursued. Which is not to say that I did not learn how to cook. Without a doubt I am not a grand chef, but I can cook without burning everything.

Event’s of the last 5 months which I have not been shy relating to here, have, well, let’s say have me a bit off my game. img_20170305_181424

img_20170305_175833

I haven’t done a lot of cooking over the last 10 or 15 years. Mostly just special occasions. Christmas, Easter, Thanksgiving and birthdays. Well, after the passing of my mother and my brother, cooking is no longer optional. My brother loved to cook, but, well, he’s gone now so living all alone as I now do, if I don’t cook, I don’t eat.

I managed the first week just doing Top Ramen, surprise surprise, that got old really fast. So now I have started cooking again. Getting used to cooking for only one person is taking a bit of practice. If I am not careful, I cook way to much.

The pasta is Ziti, once cooked it gets a tablespoon of Olive Oil, a 1/4th teaspoon of Rosemary a 1/4th teaspoon of Thyme, 1/8th teaspoon of Garlic and a 1/4th teaspoon of freshly ground black pepper. The Ziti then was covered with a Alfredo sauce.

The Sirloin was cooked in Olive Oil, with a light sprinkling of Rosemary black pepper and garlic.

The Lobster was lightly covered in butter and garlic with a squeeze of lemon.

The Asparagus got butter and garlic.

To be truthful, at the moment this obviously constitutes “Comfort Food”. So I will have to be careful to not eat like this more than once a week, or I will end up fatter than Vince Neal faster than I can change strings on my guitar.

5 thoughts on “I must be careful of the “Comfort Food trap”.

  1. (waving)

    it takes a while to get used to cooking for one person OW. Until you figure it out, tupperware and freezing is your best friend.

    What has helped me downsize is right when I get home from the supermarket, I break apart my meat into portion sizes or what I am going to make with it. For example, take the hamburger meat and make the patties and then wrap them individually. If you decide to make a meatloaf, just defrost 3/4 patties. I do that with pork chops, sausages, chicken too. Individually, it cuts the defrost time down too b/c I seemed to forget to defrost in time to cook that night.

    I also downsized the pans…instead of the 9X13 I either use this 8X8 or I found and even smaller rectangular pan that holds one chicken breast or I make baked ziti that makes 2 servings. It used to make me nuts I was eating a whole package of chicken at ever meal for days on end, etc.

    Good luck. Just have patience for this and yourself these days.

    • Cooking for just one is always a challenge.

      Never substitute eating out or fast food for what you can cook at home. Even if you might cook too much, leftovers can make a wonderful meal the next day. Will also save you from having to really cook 2 days in a row

  2. That looks yum. Cooking can be very therapeutic, but you are right about cooking for one. Cook for two and freeze a portion for next time. Love the use of those herbs

Leave a Reply

