The Marysville school shooting…


My heart goes out to the people of Marysville Washington, which Friday suffered a tragic school shooting. I lived there between late 1969 and early 1971 and my sister attended Marysville-Pilchuck High School.

https://www.google.com/maps/@48.1206308,-122.1420198,157m/data=!3m1!1e3

I lived in this house on 67th Ave NE, which if you zoom out you will see is just a couple of miles away from Marysville-Pilchuck High School, you will also notice that, this is a rural community (our back year was 75 acres of pasture), perhaps not as rural as some other communities, and no longer as rural as when I lived there, but still a rural community. When I lived there, it was a family community, and by that I means, everybody was related to pretty much everybody. Close knit families who grew up there, lived their entire lives their and all of their family members lived near by.

They were nice people, good people, they worked together, went to church together and were life long friends. Why Jaylen Fryberg snapped and went on a rampage that killed a fellow student and himself may never be known, his friends and family and the entire community will probably be asking that question for a very long time. How could a tragedy like this take place in our community, what could we have done to prevent this from happening. I wish I had answers to those questions, it’s entirely possible that some of the parent’s of the kids shot went to elementary school with me, perhaps even might have been my childhood friends at one time.

To think that people who might have been my childhood friends would have to suffer a tragedy like this is heart rending. To those in Marysville, you are in my prayers, may God comfort your hearts and bless your lives.

Leave a Reply

